Your Cart

76 Short Stories Of Saki by Hectoe Hugh Munro

76 Short Stories Of Saki  by Hectoe Hugh Munro
-60 % Out Of Stock
76 Short Stories Of Saki by Hectoe Hugh Munro

Saki's stories blend laughter and savagery with startling effect. His first book, The Rise of the Russian Empire (1889), was the only one written in a serious vein. Thereafter, he adopted the pseudonym 'Saki' (the name of the cup-bearer in the last stanza of The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam) for his collection of short stories: Reginald (1904), Reginald in Russia and Other Sketches (1910), The Chronicles of Clovis (1912) and Beasts and Superbeasts (1914). Whimsical in their plots and light heartedly cynical in their tone, those stories are also given a darker side by Munro's memories of his unhappy childhood with his aunts. He also published two novels, The Unbearable Bassington (1912) and When William Came (1913), the latter a satirical fantasy subtitled 'A Story of London under the Hohenzollerns'. Two collections of stories and sketches appeared posthumously: The Toys of Peace and Other Papers (1919) and The Square Egg and Other Sketches (1924).

Books Information
Author Name Hectoe Hugh Munro
Condition of Book Used

Write a review

Please login or register to review
Ex Tax: Rs.60.00
  • Stock: Out Of Stock
  • Model: sga544
We use cookies and other similar technologies to improve your browsing experience and the functionality of our site. Privacy Policy.